Happy Canada Day Cake

Happy Birthday Canada/ Happy July 1st/ Happy Canada Day!

I’ve always wanted to make one of these fruit flags. It is as simple as it gets – banana, raspberries and strawberries. Not to mention, a cake like this is raw, gluten free, lactose free, sulfite free. I always have a giggle when certain products unnecessarily use dietary restrictions for marketing purposes.

The No-Recipe Recipe: Happy Canada Day Cake
-banana, sliced (as many layers as you want)
-raspberries
-strawberries
1. Assemble into to the Canadian flag according to the red and white colours.

Some whipped coconut cream would have been nice on the bananas too. While at the strawberries…

A strawberry tower like this has been in my mind since last summer- the image did not exactly translate into physical form as I remembered it. But picture something way intricate and elegant please. The few seconds my eyes were able to capture the beautiful but simple sculpture in the kitchen of the Hermitage Hotel still makes me in awe of how an ordinary piece of fruit can be transformed it a different level. The background and long-version story is that last summer, my host dad very kindly arranged for me to see the kitchen of the hotel he works at in Monaco.

I hope your eyes enjoyed the little berry feast. I may go to catch some of the fireworks happening tonight. Happy Canada Day to the Canadians out there or anyone else taking part of the festivities today!

One thought on “Happy Canada Day Cake

Leave a Reply

