Dark Chocolate Almond Brownies (Vegan)

It looks like spring is slowly approaching.  Some days the breeze is warm…yes, I said warm! Please don’t fall back to the cold dark days, Toronto.  It’s been a while since brownies last made an appearance in the kitchen which is why I am just popping in to share my all-time favourite vegan brownie recipe. I found the Almond Joy Brownies from Hangry Tales  and have made some changes over the many times I baked them. Check out Hangry Tales for many delicious  and healthy recipes 🙂 The coconut flour gives the brownies a unique distinction, but if you don’t have it at home feel free to substitute with ground oats.  This recipe is slightly more dense than a regular brownie, and the melted chocolate adds a subtle richness. At the same time, I think it has the perfect amount of sweetness and does not have the tooth-sticking gooey feel as it is a little more crumbly. I hope you enjoy it!   Dark Chocolate Almond Brownies
Yield: 16 pieces          Adapted from Hangry Tales

2 tbsp ground flax
6 tbsp water

1 1/3 cup almond meal  or ground almonds *see note
2 tbsp shredded coconut
3/4 cup coconut flour (ground oats can work too)
2 tbsp tapioca starch
1/2 cup cocoa powder
pinch of salt
1/4  tsp baking soda

4 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 cup dark chocolate (I used 70%)
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup almond milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup chocolate chips

1. Mix together flax and water. Set aside for later.
2. Combine and mix well: almond meal, shredded coconut, coconut flour, tapioca starch, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda.
3. Melt the coconut oil and chocolate. Stir in brown sugar, almond milk, and vanilla.
4. Combine the almond mixture with the chocolate mixture. Stir well.
5. Add in the chocolate chips. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes.
6. Cool completely before cutting, enjoy!

* Note: Store bought almond meal will prevent gritty chunks in the brownie that than result from the grinding unskinned almonds at home. I use almond meal when I know I will be sharing the brownies or bringing it out.

4 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Almond Brownies (Vegan)

    1. Thank you for such a kind comment, I am touched 🙂 Haha you should see me when I am taking the photos, definitely not the most graceful or professional. I always enjoy learning better ways to photograph. Hope you have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

