Super Easy Key Lime Pie

Sitting here again, about to type another post and wondering what exactly do I know about St. Patrick’s day?… I’ll be honest and admit that I don’t know much to it. With the help of google, I finally realize what “shamrock” is—a clover. I’m probably the last person to find out. But did you know, the shamrock was used to represent the Holy Trinity?  Last night some colleagues from work went to the St. Patty’s campus pub night and invited me to tag along. But after a week of busy projects and definitely sleep deprived, I diverted home instead. 

Anywho, I thought I would share a little something to contribute to the wave of green coloured recipes and hey, it is my favourite colour. This Key Lime Pie is very lightly adapted from Blogilates. Cassey has a really cool series called Cheap Clean Eats. The original recipe is linked here, and it’s also no-bake and vegan. I love the simplicity of the recipe and it’s so creamy.

Super Easy Key Lime Pie
Adopted from Blogilates Yield: 1 pie (or 8 pieces)

1 cup walnuts
1 cup dates, soaked for 1 hr (about 8 dates)
1/4 cup dried coconut shreds
2 tsp coconut oil, melted

2 avocados
juice of 2 limes
1 tbsp agave (or honey)

1. Blend together walnuts, dates, coconut shreds and coconut oil. Press crust mixture into a pie pan. I lined mine with plastic wrap to make to make it easier for removal.
2. Blend together avocados, lime juice, and honey or agave. Pour this mixture onto the crust.
3. Freeze for at least 30 mins to 1 hr depending on desired consistency.

*It is healthy-dessert-hater approved (by my brother). Even though there are few ingredients and avocado-based you can’t deny that it tastes great.

For other shamrock themed dessert recipes to party with try:

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Green Tea Icing
Mangoberry Vegan Cheesecake

Matcha Chiffon Cake
Coconut Matcha Date Balls

5 thoughts on “Super Easy Key Lime Pie

  1. The colour is stunning, and I know that I would love this simple recipe. It is perfect for St. Patrick’s Day. I’ll have to pin it so I remember for next year 😉

Leave a Reply

