Tropical Nostaligia

Lately someone’s been going a little overboard with coconut milk— otherwise known as the epitome of tropical flavours. I love the exotic taste of coconut and the tropical kind of nostalgia that comes with the package.

Piña colada is a rum-based cocktail that consists of pineapple juice and cream of coconut. As Google shows, the drink was made famous in Puerto Rico by the release of Rupert Holmes’s “The Piña Colada Song”. Who doesn’t love that catchy song. I don’t go out enough so I have no idea what the real alcoholic version tastes like….but I once had a smoothie at a Malaysian restaurant that surely beats the never-tasted cocktail. This Tropical Piña Colada Smoothie recipe was inspired by the tangy mix of orange, coconut and pineapple flavours. 

When buying canned coconut milk, look out for preservatives like potassium metabisulfite and additives such as guar gum. I generally stick to brands that consist of none other than coconut milk and water. There’s also the talk about BPA in canned foods, but canned coconut milk is probably not something to have daily. Frozen grated coconut is an alternative that I would love to try another time.

Tropical Piña Colada Smoothie
Yield: 2 cups

2/3 cups to 1 cup coconut milk (I used canned)
1/2 cup pineapple, fresh
1 cup mangoes, frozen
Juice of 1 orange

1. Blend all ingredients together until smooth.
2. Add more coconut milk or water as needed.

Note: For low-fat options, you can also try almond milk or coconut water.

The tropical spirit doesn’t end there, there’s more! These gorgeous chocolate cups were inspired by SuperFoodista’s original recipe. The filling is a mixture of coconut shreds and reduced berry sauce. I used double-boiled dark chocolate but the original recipe has a homemade chocolate recipe that is a must try. 

Guilty as charged, I had this overnight chia seed pudding as breakfast. The problem with using canned coconut milk is that I never finish an entire can in one recipe. I love this easy chia seed pudding because it makes using left overs effortless. Only with a few changes, I used: coconut milk, chopped pineapple and chia seeds in this overnight recipe. No heating, cooking or baking involved. Click here to see the original recipe from Divalicious Recipes In the City’s blog. If you are currently in a cold winter, are you longing for summer as much as I am?

8 thoughts on “Tropical Nostaligia

  1. I have been OBSESSING over mango smoothies lately. They are SO creamy I swear they are like a dessert. These chocolate cups would be the perfect addition to one of my smoothies…..NEED!

Leave a Reply

