Rosemary Chocolate Chip Cookies

Rosemary is one of the must pungent and aromatic herbs. It is said that rosemary in Latin (rosemarinus)Β  means “dew of the sea”. It’s no secret that my love for fresh herbs and gardening is growing, especially after seeing my host family’s beautiful herb garden in Monaco. They grew mint, sage, rosemary, basil, thyme, chives and a few others. I wish I could find a picture of it now but I may need to do some reorganizing of my files first. On a taco night dinner we had, host dad made a mojito for me using fresh mint from their garden and coconut water instead of alcohol. It was my favourite drink of the summer.

At some point during the year I also had an indoor rosemary plant. It was growing so well until some dots of white bugs started appearing under the leaves. I suspect it may be from leaving them outdoors for a period of time. After seeing the bugs, I avoided using the herb in cooking. I tried spraying it with a vinegar and water mixture, but was not strong enough to get rid of the bugs and also damaged the leaves. Weaker and weaker, it slowly died.

I was so intrigued to see a cookie recipe include rosemary. There’s something impressive about the rosemary-chocolate combination. It’s not too bold and the aroma of the rosemary adds nice taste. The original recipe and video is like here. Isa uses all-purpose flour, here I also added some whole wheat flour. Make sure NOT to completely melt the coconut oil as I did. If you overheat the coconut oil, you can let the batter cool in the fridge before baking.

Rosemary Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Isa on Make it Vegan Yield: 20 cookies

1/2 cup refined coconut oil, softened
1 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 almond milk
1 tbsp ground flax seed
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cups all-purpose flour + 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
a pinch of salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup dark chocolate, chopped (or chocolate chips)

1. In a small bowl, mix together the milk, flax and vanilla. Let it sit.
2. In a large bowl, mix together coconut oil and rosemary with a fork. Add in the sugars and beat with the fork for about a minute. 3. In a small bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda.
4. Combine the wet and dry mixtures. Add half of the flour mixture first and slowly add in the rest. Mix in chocolate.
5. Drop the batter by tablespoons onto parchment paper. Bake at 350 degrees F for 10-12 minutes.

16 thoughts on “Rosemary Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

