Kale Wraps and Pumpkin Pie

It’s Thanksgiving Weekend again and I’m extra thankful for the time that reading week is placed this year. Before heading home on the last day of the week, I grabbed some organic kale from one of our campus gardens. It’s been on my eye for weeks! A friend made a great suggestion to use them as wraps. I added some brown rice, sauteed greens, tomatoes, pineapple, cranberries and vegan pesto.
I’m sticking to my go-to pumpkin pie recipe this year again. It was a first baking through midnight and quite therapeutic to the busy week. Lately I’ve been into making homemade almond milk; recipe will be posted soon but it is also easy to find online. If you have made your own before, you’ll know that there is a huge amount of almond pulp residue. It’s too much of a waste to throw it out. I used that goodstuff as the crust of the pie, along with some maple syrup and coconut oil.  Fun fact, it was just National Pumpkin Pie Day.  Foodimentary is a fun read, I like scrolling through the National Food Holidays and reading about other events in history.My birthday falls on Thanksgiving Day this year. The big 20. Not sure how I feel about it yet, though for the most part I see it as a positive thing.  I am secretly treating this pumpkin pie as a birthday cake. Despite wanting to try out a new cake recipe, it would be better to use as much time as possible to study…that is as of tomorrow.

Have a safe and warm Thanksgiving.

2 thoughts on “Kale Wraps and Pumpkin Pie

  1. Wow! Looks great! A post with kale AND pumpkin? Two of my favourite things 🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving – I too am celebrating this weekend and look forward to some sort of pumpkin treat tomorrow.
    Thanks for the recipes!

Leave a Reply

