A Bittersweet Ending and Some Highlights in Paris

It is bittersweet having to rearrange everything back into a suitcase. Seeing my host family for the first time in Nice felt like only yesterday. It’s hard to believe that the summer has flown by already. After giving the neighbour’s kids their last lessons and having lunch with the family, packing is on the to-do list for the rest of the day. If there are any grammar/spelling mistakes please don’t be surprised (but really, this applies for all of my past and future posts).

There are so many special memories I will take back home with me.  One of the most amazing experiences was seeing Paris with my best friend from Canada. It’s the magical city we hear about all the time. I’m a sucker for Disney movies… it was seeing Ratatouille that did it for me.
There was something…I like to say “magical” about the city—its architecture, monuments, people, boulangeries, and don’t even get me started with the extraordinary metro system. Its extensive system wowed me.


Paris deserves its own separate post but for the time I have now these are some photo journal highlights.  We had dinner two nights in a row at a place supposedly rated the best place for falafels in the world.  It was so good, and each falafel pita was humongous. I really can’t imagine how most  people had one to themselves. It  was the perfect the size for sharing. Unfortunately, a few days before going to Paris I already had some problems with my stomach. The first two nights after dinner I sustained horrendous stomach aches but it was all better by each morning. The Seine was still beautiful on a  windy day. It did not bother us too much but it was a little bit stinky when we walked below the bridge. We reminisced Remy the rat  dashing along the bridge in the movie Ratatouille. We couldn’t stop thinking of the Disney movie. The Hunchback of Notre-Dame. One of the last things we did together was seeing the Eiffel tower/ la tour Eiffel at night. It’s hard to describe how grand it felt but the city was a spectacular view at night. Time to return to packing. Till later!

One thought on “A Bittersweet Ending and Some Highlights in Paris

Leave a Reply

