Vegan Chocolate Truffles

I only realized now as I write that the video had the recipe in the description box. I wish Laura (from the video) mentioned her measurements as she was making the recipe. My measurements were approximately estimated, but they worked out too. The coconut shreds are replaced by the medjool dates.

Vegan Chocolate Truffles
Adapted from Taste Made

1 1/2 cup walnuts, soaked in water overnight
7-8 medjools dates, pitted
3  to 4 tbsp cocoa powder
pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp maple syrup
3-4 tbsp coconut oil

cocoa powder for dusting

1. First blend the walnuts to small pieces. Add in dates and the rest of the ingredients. Blend until desired consistency. I like to leave some chunks of walnuts for a crunchy bite.
2. Refrigerate for 30 mins or until the batter is firm.
3. Roll 1 tablespoon of batter into balls. Roll in cocoa powder.
4. Keep refrigerated.

Here I was thinking of a way to make these look nice.
Of course, just throw on some garnishes.  Some ideas for garnishing: cayenne pepper, matcha powder, sea salt, dried tea flower.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Truffles

  1. So pretty!! One thing I’ve learned when working with dates is BUY FRESH! I made a recipe once with packaged dates from a grocery store and it just isn’t the same. The dates were hard and dry. If you can buy from a farmers market or specialty store I highly recommend! (just my $.02 for what it’s worth…)

    1. Definitely and much appreciated! I haven’t been able to find them at the farmers market but the brand I buy (called Natural Delights) always has soft ones that are perfect to using in recipes.

Leave a Reply

