Berry Beet Juice

Beets are humble and often an underrated vegetable.  I was afraid of it for a long time and really had no idea how to eat it (they have always been extinct in our house).  Last year in a school course, we were learning about the science of things along the lines of fermentation, pickling, canning and jarring processes.  In the lab we prepared and tasted pickled beets among other vegetables. Surprisingly they have a neutral taste. The bright red colour always gave an impression of bitterness. Raw beets are a personal preference, such as in salads and juices.

If you like healthy cupcakes and chocolate, you will like the Vegan Chocolate Beet Cupcake recipe.

My dad was the one who suggested it for juice so we put this combination together. It’s so refreshing. Yesterday morning I had 3 cups to myself for breakfast. It’s loaded with antioxidants and natural sweetness.  I recommend freezing cut pineapple when they are best in season. I used my stash of frozen pineapples and omitted ice cubes.

Berry Beet Juice

Servings: 2-3

1 to 1 1/2 cup water
1 beet, peeled and chopped
1/2 medium apple
1 ripe medium banana
1/2 cup frozen mixed berries
1 cup pineapple (I used frozen ones)
4 tbsp lemon juice

Put everything in the blender and mix until smooth.
* I find it sweet enough and the lemon juice covers up any bitterness left. You can also add some honey or agave for more sweetness too.

Today I am heading to Waterloo, a city about 2 hours from Toronto to visit  friends for the weekend. I am bringing with me a batch of Kristen’s Almond Vegan Brownies. They are totally addicting! I will post a picture of them soon.

3 thoughts on “Berry Beet Juice

  1. Just discovered your blog! Love 🙂 Hope you can visit mine 😀
    This recipe looks delicious and easy to follow! Thanks! Looking forward to look more!

Leave a Reply

