Virtual Vegan Potluck 2013- Sweet Potato Pesto Canapés Appetizer


May I present to you a simple, delicious and nutritious appetizer. But first, please visit the beginning of the potluck on Vegan Bloggers UniteTo add, I just want to mention that although I am not vegan, I enjoy a plant-based diet and enjoy creating vegan foods.  Almost 2 years later, I am loving the plant-based lifestyle. This idea can from a time when I spread sweet potato on a slice of pumpernickel bread, added some mixed salad and tomatoes for the sake of using up leftovers. I thought the colours looked so vivid and it tasted great too.

I used an old rice cooker to steam sweet potato, exactly a twin of one below except it is grey. My parents brought it with them from Taiwan 10 years ago and it still functions quite well.

from http://www.quitecurious.com

There are other ways to cook sweet potato as well such as baking or using a slow cooker, any method that works for you. I used the pieces close to the end of Whole Food’s “Seeduction bread”, whole wheat with lots of different types of seeds. Since it is not a tall loaf, it has perfect small disc sized pieces at each end. I used a store bought vegan pesto brand, Sunflower Kitchen. The basil taste is so dominant, I’m so addicted.

If preferred, the bread pieces can be baked but I don’t have a strong liking for a super crispy and crunchy piece because it hurts my gums. Crackers or other small bite size pieces would be great too.

Sweet Potato Pesto Canapés
Yield: 5 pieces

1 medium sweet potato, cooked ( about 3/4 cup mashed)
dash of cinnamon
black pepper to taste
5 small pieces whole wheat or whole grain bread
about 1/3 cup vegan pesto
about 1/4 cup sliced cherry tomatoes
fresh oregano for garnishing

1. Peel and discard the skin of the cooked sweet potato and mash it with a fork just until there are no lumps.
2. Spread a layer of the mashed sweet potato onto the bread.
3. Spoon 1 to 2 teaspoon of pesto on top of the sweet potato layer.
4. Garish with sliced tomato and a sprig of fresh oregano.

The earthy olfactory aroma of the fresh oregano adds a nice depth. And the pesto adds a subtle savoury compliment to the sweet potato.

I hope you try out this easy recipe and thanks for stopping by!
Visit the preceding and following potluck posts:
                    

34 thoughts on “Virtual Vegan Potluck 2013- Sweet Potato Pesto Canapés Appetizer

  1. What great & tasty colourful appetizers: all vegan too! I knew that sweet potato goes so well with vegan green pesto & you make this lovely combo look very appetizing too! 🙂 Well done! A must make soon! Yummmmm!

  2. Gorgeous photos and canapes! I’ve never tried steaming vegetables in my rice cooker, but that is a great idea for a sweet potato, especially if I’m already using the oven or stovetop for lots of other things. The pesto + sweet potato combination already looks so colorful and visually appealing, and those perfect little tomato slices just put things over the top for me– these look so mouthwatering!

  3. I love pesto, but I’ve never paired it with sweet potato. From the look of your appetizers, it looks like a marriage made in heaven. Great addition to the pot luck!! Celeste:)

  4. The colours on this do look gorgeous and I love your inclusion of cherry tomatoes – because they’re so flavourful and they go incredibly well with pesto. I’ll be coming back for seconds from this plate at the potluck!

  5. Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time
    both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

