Virtual Vegan Potluck 2013- Sweet Potato Pesto Canapés Appetizer


May I present to you a simple, delicious and nutritious appetizer. But first, please visit the beginning of the potluck on Vegan Bloggers UniteTo add, I just want to mention that although I am not vegan, I enjoy a plant-based diet and enjoy creating vegan foods.  Almost 2 years later, I am loving the plant-based lifestyle. This idea can from a time when I spread sweet potato on a slice of pumpernickel bread, added some mixed salad and tomatoes for the sake of using up leftovers. I thought the colours looked so vivid and it tasted great too.

I used an old rice cooker to steam sweet potato, exactly a twin of one below except it is grey. My parents brought it with them from Taiwan 10 years ago and it still functions quite well.

from http://www.quitecurious.com

There are other ways to cook sweet potato as well such as baking or using a slow cooker, any method that works for you. I used the pieces close to the end of Whole Food’s “Seeduction bread”, whole wheat with lots of different types of seeds. Since it is not a tall loaf, it has perfect small disc sized pieces at each end. I used a store bought vegan pesto brand, Sunflower Kitchen. The basil taste is so dominant, I’m so addicted. Continue reading