Avocado Cereal Bowl and 5 Ingredient Walnut Brownie

The weather is warming up and the days are beginning to grow longer. The spring is right around the corner ๐Ÿ™‚ I could use a change. It is a good day, all midterm exams are over and there is a little time for a breather before things get too busy again.

I have a strange fondness to a totally random breakfast meal. From the idea of a cereal bowl but it uses avocado as the main item. I took these pictures in a hurry since I mainly have this in the morning before class.

I start out with 1/2 an avocado.

Some homemade apple sauce.Crumbled walnut “brownies” (recipe below).And almond milk and sometimes extra cinnamon.

AvocadoCereal Bowl
Serves:1
-1/2 avocado
-3 tbsp applesauce
-2 pieces walnut brownie
-enough almond milk
-dash of cinnamon
Other things to add: dried fruit, fresh berries

Add everything in a bowl and eat.

Walnuts are a great source of omega-3 fats-beneficial for the memory, mood, heart health, sleep and more. Other facts about walnuts from the 100 Foods To Stay Young book are in the Banana Walnut Bread post. I tried the same recipe with almonds, but it doesn’t have the same “brownie” texture I was looking for.

A simple, quick and healthy brownie. It has a satisfying rich cocoa flavour and makes a great snack.

5 Ingredient Walnut Brownies
-1 cup walnuts
-1 tbsp cocoa powder
-a pinch of salt
-1 tsp coconut oil, melted
-4 medjool dates

Other suggested add-ins:
-dried fruit
-chocolate chips

1. In a processor or blender, blend walnuts, cocoa powder and salt until it is a fine grainy texture. Over blending can bring out rancid taste of the oil in the walnuts.
2. Continue to blend.ย  Add in the coconut oil and the dates one at a time until the dough forms.
3. Firmly press into a container. It will firm up in the fridge but tastes great right away too. Cut into square pieces and eat.

Spring, here we come

4 thoughts on “Avocado Cereal Bowl and 5 Ingredient Walnut Brownie

  1. Hi beautiful Helen! Your blog is gorgeous in every way… love the photography, the wholesome and delicious recipes and your honest, generous writing. So happy to have found your corner of the internet ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m from Perth, Australia… it’s been incredibly hot here over Summer, so it’s nice to see your frosty photos of nature for a change! I’ve ventured over to Canada once but only got as far as Nova Scotia (haha… driving over the border from the U.S). I’ve always wanted to go to both Toronto and Vancouver ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway… back to this post. I can’t believe you put all of those ingredients together into a breakfast bowl…! I can understand how it would work but I think I’ll need to taste it for myself to be fully convinced! Love the look of those brownies though… delicious and healthy. Definitely trying your recipe. Thanks for sharing! x

    1. Hi Laura! Thanks so much I really appreciate your kind words…you just made my day! I would love to be enjoying the Australian weather at the moment ๐Ÿ™‚ Vancouver is also a place I want to visit in the future, I also haven’t gone out any further than Toronto and Quebec yet. Haha I realize how different the breakfast bowl is from usual breakfast meals but I hope you won’t be disappointed ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I’m pretty sure I won’t be… although I’m yet to sample it for myself, it seems like avocado and cocoa has become a winning combination in the blogsphere these days. You’re on to something!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for visiting my blog also. So nice to have met another blogging friend across the seas! xx

Leave a Reply

