Double Chocolate Cookie

I was craving something sweet and chocolatey. It has been a while since I had made a batch of cookies and this time I wanted to aim for an even healthier treat. But rest assured, even though it is healthy it is so good.The cookies came out perfectly and the inside is nice and dense. You won’t even miss the sugar and fat laden cookies!

I found the recipe of a triple chocolate chip recipe from Elana’s Pantry and took the spin from there. To her recipe, I made some changes to suit the ingredients I had on hand. She uses 3 different chocolate chips, so if you are looking for something even sweeter you should definitely take a look at her recipe.

Double Chocolate Cookie
Yield: 14 cookies

  • 2   and 1/2 cups oat flour (processed oats into powder)
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • dark chocolate chips
  • handful of dried cranberries
  1. Combine together oat flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking soda, dark chocolate chips and cranberries.
  2. Cream together coconut oil and honey. Stir into the dry ingredients
  3. Scoop dough with a spoon and flatten before baking.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees C for about 8-10 minutes.
  5. Allow them to cool completely before serving.

Let’s talk chocolate! It is one of the most incredible things on Earth. When I first learned about the benefits of cocoa, I started to teach myself to love the bitter dark chocolate over milk chocolate. It’s not bitter today, and I can actually enjoy it now!  According to the “National Geographic Desk Reference to Nature’s Medicine” book…. Did you know, that cacao seeds contain more than 300 different chemical compounds? It contains stimulant caffeine (aka theobromine) that has a calming effect to the brain but energizes the nervous system. And studies show that the antioxidant action of cocoa are higher than tea and red wine. There are much more facts, but how awesome is chocolate (dark chocolate, not milk chocolate)!

Some new ones I tried out this summer include the ZaZubean (organic and fair trade), Endangered Species Chocolate (also organic and fair trade) and Chocosol. The first two were picked up at Mountain Equipment Co-op when I went with a friend who needed to do some shopping for her trip. It sells things for outdoor physical activities; at the check-out aisle I was able to browse many different snack bars and different types of chocolates. I chose these two because I wanted to try something new and for the ethics they portray. One of the things I love about chocolate is seeing how it is presented. I liked Zazubean’s taste more than the Endangered Species’. I also tried Chocosol’s dark chocolate.  At a night market in Toronto with friends, I found a small booth very different from others and it stood out to me. I was intrigued to hear they are based in Toronto. It was also nice for the vendors to tell me about their products and their values for the quality of their chocolate + ethical treatment of their farmers. Out of the 3, this one was my favourite one.Treat yourself to some chocolate today 😀

Leave a Reply

