Books Galore at the Biggest Bookstore

Happy Thursday! The weather is finally clearly up from all the humidity and the heat-alert frenzy. It is so crisp out today and it’s nice to have some gloominess hiding the scorching sun for a change. I have been home-bound since the beginning of the week scrambling together a major essay. Or should I say, procrastinating. Anyhow, I signed up for another 5k in August that will take place in Toronto. I was planning to participate in the Toronto Women’s 10k run prior to the notice but that can be left for another time.

This morning in class the A.C. was colder than usual. Has anyone else heard that decreased body temperature produces more melatonin, and better sleep? I was yawning until class the professor called it an end. In need of something steeeaming hot, I ventured to a new café. The atmosphere is so unique. I love the old-fashioned designs and the classiness.

I opted for a chamomile citrus tea. The citrus added a refreshing scent, what a nice combination! After returning some research books I decided to swing by the “World’s Biggest Bookstore”.  I walked by it frequently since…a long time ago, but I never looked inside. After reading about it’s scheduled closing for 2013 on the paper, I thought that it would be worth a look.

I’m surprised that the bookstore is more like a combination of the chains (Coles, Indigo and Chapters) instead of being something independent. But who cares 🙂 I was in a good mood to be around so many books, I was in book heaven! There were massive sales, some piles of books for $2, and discounted items for 50% and more.  I did buy a few books after looking around but I didn’t find anything from the items on sale. I will share the books in the next post.

So I’m home now and I’m going to start up Tabata. I have really been sedentary except for occasional hot yoga classes because of the weather.

The ricotta spinach lasagna as promised 2 weeks ago is here! I actually bought these pre-made lasagna sheets with manicotti’s in mind. They were slightly dry and were cracking all over when I was rolling them up. It worked out best as a lasagna and was still delicious.

Ricotta Spinach Lasagna
Serving: 6-8

Filling

  • 1 cup chopped spinach (about 3 cups of fresh spinach)
  • 300g ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper
  • marinara sauce
  • mozzarella cheese
  • olive oil

Layers

  • lasagna pasta or sheets
  1. Combine together spinach, ricotta, egg, salt and pepper.
  2. In a deep dish, oil the bottom and spread with marinara sauce.
  3. Begin with a lasagna sheet. Fill as many layers your dish can hold with the spinach ricotta mixture. If you want you can also use marinara sauce in the layers but I chose to keep that for the top.
  4. End with a layer of lasagna, and spread a generous amount of marinara sauce. Top with cheese and bake at 350 degrees C for 25-40 minutes.

Last night’s dinner was a concoction of random leftovers-firm tofu, green beans, and a banana. I was really craving the taste of caramelized bananas and it was a yummy addition to the stir-fry.  It made me feel like I was eating candy!  The unused green beans are left overs from last week. They were previously blanched  for lunch I prepared for my brother.  I am helping my brother with his lunch each week when I can. He started a new job and is finding making meals inconvenient in his long work hours. It actually began as a joke he made, but I’m happy to help out and if having food available will mean less restaurant/fast food for him then I’m in! I feel like I’m able to make him my experiment and see where eating healthier will take him in terms of physical health. It’s a win-win.In this was

  • 6 to 8 pieces sliced tofu
  • 1 banana
  • chopped green beans

This  came together under 5 minutes. I started by cooking the tofu in a lightly oiled pan with some salt and pepper until they were golden. Then I added in the green beans and waited for the tofu to get more browned. Last, I sliced in the bananas but they seemed to stick to the pan so it was not cooked for much longer. From yesterday on I want to add banana to everything! Tonight I whipped up the same this with additions of edamame beans, pine nuts, canned pineapple.

I’m off to clean up and get some sleep!

2 thoughts on “Books Galore at the Biggest Bookstore

  1. Heya! I really love these photos you took. And the cafe is very cute, where’s it at?
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog, btw. I really appreciate it! 🙂

    1. Thank you and I’m glad you think the cafe is cute too 🙂 It is called Balzac’s Coffee and located in Toronto.
      Thanks for visiting too, your blog is always fun to read.

Leave a Reply

