Wrappin’ Up That Week

Happy Monday! The new “Checklist” page was added and it is a list of personal achievements or random interests I hope to tackle.  And the spinach ricotta lasagna will be upcoming in the next post!

I was very proud of myself for beating the alarm clock by a whole hour this morning.  The course midterm exam was set for 9AM, so I wanted to squeeze in extra time to study after breakfast. I was able to take more time in my morning routine and to eat slower too. Breakfast was rye bread with peanut butter, 1/3 of a large avocado and blueberries. And a drizzle of honey  on the avocado for an extra kick of sweetness.Enjoyed every bite of the breakfast sandwich  🙂 I like to put avocado slices on bread when they are abundant and in season. The tartness of the blueberries went well with the creamy texture of the avocado.

I went to class prepared today! I brought a button up  long sleeve to keep me warm during the exam. Thankfully it  prevented any dreaming of hot tea or steaming soup. After I finished, I lingered around the  little pond area to prepare for a meeting. The water was very calming, but there was also plenty of litter in it 😦It was too early for lunch yet, so I snacked on one of the two prepared homemade Larabar.The meeting went well, and I had just enough time to sit down to eat lunch before heading home. I packed a lunch with chopped cucumber, beans (mix of chickpeas, lentils and black-eye peas), raisins and avocado. For an easy vinaigrette I used olive oil, fresh lemon juice and balsamic vinegar.

The blue scribbles on my notebook are the lyrics to my new favourite song, “Vienna” by Billy Joel. Frank Sinatra’s “Fly Me to The Moon” is still my all time fav.

The wraps! Last week I bought a package of small Dempster’s whole wheat flour tortillas to make lunch on-the-go mess free. When I am outside, I prefer to eat something that would not require direct hand to food contact when possible. I might be a little germ conscious, but it’s also for convenience. Sadly, I ended up using it more at home than for school days. But here are other ways I made use of it.1. As a breakfast wrap. The wrap envelopes apple butter, banana, blueberries, a sprinkle of flax seed and cinnamon. I was hungry since 4 am the night before but I managed to let the breakfast wrap bake for 10 minutes in the toaster oven. I’ve got to make this breakfast more often in the future. Caramelized bananas and cinnamon are a great combination. The result was very very worth waiting longer for.

1. Cinnamon Banana Breakfast Wrap
Serves 1

  • 1 small flour tortilla wrap
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1-2 tbsp apple butter or other fruit spread
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 2 tsp flax seed
  1. Spread apple butter on wrap and arrange the banana slices along the center. Sprinkle with cinnamon and flax seed.
  2. Fold up and bake at 350 degrees F for 10 minutes.

2. Vegetarian Quesadilla with Tofu, Tomato and Spinach
Serves 1

  • 1 small flour tortilla wrap
  • 1 handful mozzarella or cheese of choice
  • diced tomato
  • spinach
  • extra firm tofu, crumbled
  • black pepper, dried or fresh basil
  1. Gently fold wrap in half without breaking, spread the inside with cheese, tomato, spinach, crumbled tofu. Season with pepper and basil.
  2. Bake for 15-20 mins at 350 degrees F and slice. You can also cook it in a skillet or use a sandwich griller.

I love using yogurt as a base for sauces, especially in summery foods such as these. I also like to use yogurt with fruit spreads as sauce, and it tastes amazing on salad too.

Easy Smoked Salmon, Cucumber and  Salad Wrap
Serves: 2-4

  • 2 small flour tortilla wraps
  • 4-6 slices of smoked salmon
  • 1 handful salad
  • 1 cucumber, shaved into ribbons
  • 2 tbsp apple butter or other fruit spread (eg. raspberry sauce, strawberry jam, etc)
  • 2 tbsp Greek yogurt
  • black pepper
  • sesame seeds
  1. On the wrap, spread salad in the center. Top with smoked salmon and cucumber. Sprinkle with pepper.
  2. Mix together the apple butter and yogurt and add about 1 tbsp.
  3. Roll up and slice into pieces. You can also insert toothpicks to make slicing easier. Sprinkle sesame seeds to garnish.

The apple butter was brought back from the Michigan Trip. I was intrigued as soon as I saw it and have never heard of it before. I was amused to see that apples and cider can produce something like this. It tastes similar to apple sauce, but is thicker and more acidic.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

