Chocolate Berry Swirl Cheesecake (Raw & Vegan) and Catch-ups

This is another creation of raw vegan cheesecake . It was the first time making something like this when I was preparing a dessert for the Virtual Vegan Potluck.   They were made as small individual “cheesecakes” in the first making, this time I made it in a small springform pan.

Sadly the coconut oil was all used up for the crust. 1 tsp of coconut oil plus 3 tbsps of yogurt seemed to do the trick for the filling. This the cheesecake has a chocolate layer with cocoa powder and a plain layer that was sprinkled with  frozen raspberries and blueberries.

The cheesecake was actually made a week or two ago, but it stores well in the freezer. I brought out the half eaten cheesecake from the freezer today before lunch. My friend and I each had a piece for a mid-morning snack.

Chocolate Berry Swirl Vegan Cheesecake
Makes 1  (9 inch springform pan)

Crust Bottom:

  • 9 medjool dates, pit removed
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/8 cup raw oats
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp carob powder (optional)
  • pinch of salt

Fill:

  • 2 1/2 cup cashews, soaked overnight
  • juice of 3 lemons
  • 1/3 cup + 1 tbsp raw honey
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • frozen raspberries or blueberries
  • 1-2 tbsp cocoa powder.
  1. To make the crust first: blend together almonds, walnuts, oats, carob powder and salt until a chunky powder texture. Then add in dates and blend. Press the mixture into a plastic-lined springform pan. Freeze.
  2. Clean blender before making the filling.
  3. For the fill: strain the cashews of any left over water; blend with lemon juice and vanilla.
  4. Heat together coconut oil and raw honey. Add into the cashew mix and blend until smooth. Try to avoid any chunks.
  5. Divide the batter in half. Mix the cocoa powder in one. And add the frozen berries to the other.
  6.  Pour the cocoa filling into the springform pan and freeze until solid. Then add the plain filling into the pan and freeze.
  7. Store them in the freezer. Defrost in the fridge 20-30 mins before eating and garnish if you would like.

Yesterday afternoon after I picked up my friend, we had lunch at a nearby mall before heading home. Then we visited another mall that primarily sells asian products, clothing and food. And bizarre things like this beauty…

No doubt, it is runway appropriate.

For last night’s dinner I wanted something light. I decided on multigrain OneBun with cheese, spinach, and scrambled eggs.

munch munch munch…

After dinner we went out for a jog. When I jog with a friend I am always more motivated. Even though it was dead humid outside, we still stayed out to exercise for almost an hour. Two years ago my friend and I met when we were in Quebec for a summer French immersion education. I’m going to stop addressing her that way, her name is Jona 🙂 She is practically family/a sister to me. It was not until we ran together did we both realize that we could run for longer than 20 minutes. Talking and running made 45 minutes feel like a breeze. And soon we were able to sustain our running time for longer.

Today our plans to visit downtown Toronto in the morning had been canceled because of the weather. With the change of plans, we ate breakfast of granola cereal in soymilk with banana slices and yogurt drizzled with honey. Then we baked oatmeal cookies while we watched the movie Hugo.

We paused Hugo and went to the kitchen to find something for lunch. Jona was excited to taste the Wonder BonBons I had described to her.  While making those, we prepared lunch using OneBuns again. We added cheese, spinach, cucumbers, basil leaves and grape tomatoes. I also wanted to try some left over raspberry mash from the bonbons on my pizza, it added a delicious sweet and tangy taste. The raspberry mash was simply mashed up frozen raspberry to substitute for raspberry jam.

After lunch we continued Hugo.  I admit to falling asleep during the movie, the heat today made us both sleepy. After an afternoon nap, we headed out to dinner for Korean. I had the the tofu & kimchi soup, and Jona ordered the chicken katsu meal.

Time to hit the bed. Goodnight!

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Berry Swirl Cheesecake (Raw & Vegan) and Catch-ups

  1. Oh my gosh so much yummy food in one post! I love your vegan cheesecake recipe. I’m newly dairy and egg intolerant so still learning how to recreate all my favourite things without my trigger ingredients and this fits the bill nicely. Tho I also can’t have coconut oil, any suggestions for a sub? Vegan spread? Sunflower oil?

    1. Hi there 🙂 It must be a challenge changing to a completely different lifestyle. For the vegan cheesecake recipe, I suppose applesauce could be used to replace the coconut oil. I think the texture might be a little different because the coconut oil helps it to firm up once cold, but it shouldn’t be a big issue. I wouldn’t opt for another type of oil because they may have a different taste or fat content. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

