Valuable Mentions of The Week

Days have been hot and gloomy. My dear Wasabi and I have also been spending more time together. (Me supervising him climbing on curtains and cleaning any fallen doo-doo).

I thought I would conclude the past week with some valuable mentions of things I have made for dinner all week.

#1- Sweet potato fries are now my all-time favourite appetizers. They are so simple and so nutritious. I stopped trying to make them again after I attempted to make them a few years ago. I think I may have cut them too thick or did not let them cook entirely. I watched Laura’s video again to make sure that things would turn out amazing and for sure they did. I made my fries smaller than hers for personal preference and because I wanted them to cook faster.

Easy Baked Sweet Potato Fries
  • 2 sweet potatoes, washed
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • dried basil (optional)
  • pinch of cinnamon (optional)
  • pinch of paprika (optional)
  1. Slice the sweet potatoes into stick shapes. Drizzle with enough oil to coat each piece.
  2. Season with salt, pepper, cinnamon, paprika or others to your preference.
  3. Spread them out on a baking sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees C. Half way through the baking time, turn them over and continue baking.

#2- Salad Stuffed Portobello Mushroom was also inspired by Laura’s recipe.  She used bacon and spinach but I had neither at home. I used salad mix with some breadcrumbs, dijon mustard and mozzarella.

Without cheese would also be a tasty low-fat option.

#3- Baked Mozzarella Cheese  and Tofu Sticks

I can’t remember the last time I had baked cheese sticks. All credit to Skinny Taste and you may see the recipe here. There was a half a block of left over tofu which I breaded the same way as the cheese sticks. Mmm they were delicious!

The photos were taken last week but here’s an update of the little veggie garden

When I was younger, the thought of growing plants and vegetables were beyond me. It never ever crossed my mind that I would want to grow my own food. I am always surprised by life’s surprises and learning about who I am and my interests.

C’mon, who doesn’t feel like a proud mother (of plants) when they see a seedling sprouting 🙂  Maybe it is an innate nurturing instinct for females/ males/ gardeners but I’m sure I am not the only one who gets these feelings.

I’m most excited about the basil!

Leave a Reply

