Chocolate Green Smoothie

Today is a rather relaxed day. Last night was so much fun catching up with a friend doing what girls do best, shopping and even more window shopping. After we came home, we met up with another friend and stopped for late night frozen yogurt. Then we chatted in the car about our futures, school, boys, careers, and haha…the type of mothers we will be. I will not name names, but one is going to be a soccer mom. One is going to be a career woman working on obtaining her MBA, and the other is going to be a fabulous domestic engineer. We also played fortune tellers for each other in predicting the type of husbands we will be happily married to.

This morning I had some Greek  yogurt with organic raspberry jam. Just like with cottage cheese, I always mix in some fruit jam to balance out the strong creamy and milky taste. Greek yogurt is very filling. I made a chocolate green smoothie 30 minutes later.

Everyone has their own way of making green smoothies, this is just my version. I always add lemon juice and the frozen berries to cover the very veggie taste. If I feel like the smoothie is not sweet enough or if I don’t have enough fruits, I like to add honey.

Chocolate Green Smoothie
Servings: 1-2

  • 1 1/2 cup fresh kale leaves
  • 2 nuggets frozen spinach
  • 1/2 cup soymilk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries ( I used  raspberries and blueberries)
  • ~2 tbsp lemon juice (about 1/4 of a lemon)
  • 1/3 cup mango, diced
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp honey (optional)
  • pinch of cinnamon (optional)
  1. Blend together kale, spinach, soymilk and water. Add in the banana, frozen berries, lemon juice, mango, cocoa powder, honey and cinnamon and blend until everything is smooth.

    The cocoa powder can be omitted for a regular green smoothie.

Lunch was some salad with a baked chicken burrito bought from Costco. I had another soon after.

The banana PB bonbons in the freezer are calling to me. Ooh I’m anxious to try them out, I’m always in the mood for peanut butter and chocolate. The recipe is from AprilAthena’s video on Youtube.

Leave a Reply

