Oaty Oaty Oats

For the past few days I have happily enjoyed overnight oats as my morning fuel. I still love the matcha oats, but I am also trying out different variations.

On Saturday, breakfast was chocolate oats with half a golden sweet potato, blackberries and raspberries. I ate more than usual for the long day I had ahead of me. I almost always add a drizzle of honey on the oats. Yum!

Yesterday I also had chocolate overnight oats that was left over from Saturday. That’s another thing I love about overnight oats, they are ready to eat when you need them 🙂 But the liquid can separate out when the oats are refrigerated too long. I’m guessing it is the liquid whey from yogurt, but it could also be from the water. For this reason I always add a handful or two of raisins before refrigeration to help soak up excess liquid.

The recipe for the chocolate oats is basically the same as the matcha oats, except with cocoa powder instead of matcha powder.  I also made enough for 2 servings this time.

Chocolate Overnight Oats
Servings: 2

  • 4 tbsp raw oats
  • 3 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 3 tbsp soy milk
  • 3-4 tbsp water
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp carob powder
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 1/2  tsp honey
  • flaxseed (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tsp wheat germ (optional)
  • raisins (optional)
  1. Mix together all the ingredients in a container and refrigerate overnight.
  2. In the morning, stir together and enjoy. If it is too thick, add some more water or soymilk.

Today’s oats were made with Greek yogurt instead of plain. I thought adding some shredded coconut would do more for the taste, but the coconut was barely noticeable. Next time I will try adding coconut milk.

Mmm, it was extra creamy.

High Protein Overnight Oats with Greek Yogurt and Wheat Germ
Serves: 2

  • 5 tbsp raw oats
  • 3 tbsp Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 3 to 4 tbsp soymilk
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp carob powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp honey
  • flaxseed (optional)
  • 1-2 tbsp shredded coconut (optional)
  • raisins
  1. Mix together all the ingredients in a container and refrigerate overnight.
  2. In the morning, stir together and enjoy. If it is too thick, add some more water or soymilk.

Even better with apple slices. Excuse the chipped nail polish. I love this Sally Hansen colour that I tried at the Walmart and I’m trying to make it last as long as I can before it looks completely ruined.

After breakfast and some digestion time, I started Tabata. I pretty much yawned my way through half of the workout. My heart rate was up but sweat barely appeared. Does this happen to anyone else who works out while still tired?

Leave a Reply

