Spaghetti Squash and Vegetarian Shyness

Being a relatively new vegetarianism, there are plenty of things that make me feel insecure. A few weeks ago I went to a dinner bbq and potluck at a friend’s house. Though there were plentiful salads, fruits and vegetable plates, I’m not sure why I was so surprised that majority of the food was meat. Bbq steak, chicken wings, burger patties, bacon…oh you can imagine a warm summer night in the backyard.  When my friends questioned why I was only chomping on salad, I didn’t know what to say. Or how to tell them about my vegetarianism. I didn’t want to seem unappreciative of the food and the time it took for the preparation. But I also did not want to be put out. It doesn’t stop there, I was also afraid of my friends viewing me as someone who obsesses about her diet or reasons that do not reflect my values for being vegetarian.

” I ate too much for lunch” seemed to settle their curiosity. I’m babbling, but basically I am speaking of support. From friends and family. Speaking from a nutrition perspective, I think that one of the most important things with veg. is to be educated and to know how to nourish yourself the right way. It is important too when it comes to helping those that we seek support from to have a genuine understanding whether they approve or not. And for me, that is where the challenge is at.

On a side note, I just want to add that taking the time to transition is so important. There is really no way of getting used to a meatless diet over night and for it to be sustainable for your health. However, that’s another topic for another day.

Last night’s dinner was spaghetti squash. I heard a lot about substituting starch pasta for squash and I finally got around to trying it. The squash still has some crunchiness to it after baking. I used pesto sauce, but any other pasta sauce would go well too. The preparation of the squash was pretty simple.

Cut it in half

Remove the insides. Oil, season and bake.

Spaghetti Pasta with Pesto
  • 1 spagetti squash
  • olive oil
  • seasoning
  • some water
  • pesto sauce or other pasta sauces
  • grape tomatoes, halved
  1. To prepare the squash, wash and cut in half. Scoop out the insides and brush with olive oil on the flesh. Season well; I used salt, pepper and dried basil.
  2. Place on a lined baking pan. Add some water to the baking sheet to prevent the bottom of the squash from burning.
  3. Bake for 45 – 50 minutes at 350 degrees C and cool.
  4. Use a fork and gently scrape out the insides. The flesh will come out in strands once you tear it apart.
  5. Toss with 4-5 tbsp sauce and tomatoes, and serve.

I also made a side of steamed broccoli and tofu stir fry. The broccoli was steamed in salted water for a few minutes until bright green.

Then I cooked some a handful of cubed tofu until golden. I also added in some left overs  of stir fried garlic, eggplant, onions, black beans and chopped tomato. When everything was hot, the broccoli was tossed in with a squeeze of lime, salt and pepper.

That was dinner!

Okay, I’m in rush to get ready right now for a last minute fundraising event tonight. Seeya.

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash and Vegetarian Shyness

Leave a Reply

