The Royal Visit in Toronto and Oatmeal Cookies

I am loving the weather and how nicely it is warming up. Yesterday was Victoria Day here in Canada and today… Prince Charles and Camilla visited Toronto! They also headed over to my university campus 🙂 . If I knew about his visit earlier I probably would have had my first peak of royalty too. It was so humid today and boy, does he look like he is feeling it.

I spent the afternoons of the past few days reading Food Inc. in the sun. Not many chapters in yet but so far so good. I will share more about it when I get close to finishing 🙂 Also, it is 2 weeks since discovering Tabata and I’m still loving it. It kicks my butt every time.

On Saturday I whipped up a batch of oatmeal cookies. I have wanted to try out a new oatmeal cookie recipe for a while and it was perfect to bring to work. I made some minor changes to the recipe from Sprinkling of Sugar. I used some olive oil to sub for the amount of the butter called for, used whole wheat flour instead of A.P flour, and used both brown sugar and granulated sugar.They are chewy and sweet, just like how oatmeal cookies should be. After tasting home baked treats, store bought cookies just don’t taste the same.

Easy Oatmeal Cookies
Yield: 15 cookies

-1/2 cup butter (or part olive oil)
-1/4 cup brown sugar
-1/4 cup granulated sugar
-1 egg
-1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-3/4 cup whole wheat flour
-1 1/4 cup rolled oats
-1 to 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
-pinch of salt
-raisins
-chocolate chips (optional)
-chopped nuts ( optional)

1. Mix together dry ingredients—baking soda, flour, oats, cinnamon, salt, raisins and chocolate chips.

2. Melt the butter slightly in the microwave (15-20 seconds) until it becomes soft, but not watery. Cream with the sugars; add in vanilla and egg.

3. Add the dry mixture to the wet and mix well. Stick in the freezer for a few minutes to help them shape easier.

4. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and oil. Drop the batter using a tablespoon.

5. Bake at 350 degrees C for 10 minutes and cool.

I’m off to eat dinner, followed by a jog tonight!

One thought on “The Royal Visit in Toronto and Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

