Quinoa Tabouleh To The Rescue

The fridge is fixed horrahh! It’s slowly being restocked and guess what…I’m making dinner tonight 🙂 I will post later today. This week I wanted to take up some DIY projects. After flower shopping with my mom, I thought it would be appropriate to make a gardening apron. I forgot where I saw this idea but I thought it was so genius. I used a pair of Urban Behaviour denim that I bought 4 years ago. They were always a bit loose on me and the legs were too wide a fit.

Use sharp fabric scissors to cut the jeans to a comfortable length. I ended up cutting mine even shorter because it started looking like a skirt. Pull out the side seams and cut out the front of the pants but leave the waist band. I did not cut the belt loops but I’m sure that’s something that can be done to improve the look. Unbutton the back pockets and cut off the top flaps. And that’s it. Unbutton and put around your waist for gardening.

No idea what happened to the quality of the photos 😦  for some reason they look drained after being uploaded. The banana, lotion, scissor and pen are just there to show how things will fit. I didn’t actually want to put the gardening tools in yet.

Today’s lunch was a pesto salad sandwich. I toasted half of a One Bun multigrain pita  and spread with pesto sauce.

It was topped with sliced grape tomatoes and a handful of mixed salad. But don’t worry, I used the other half of the bun to make another sandwich after this one 😉

For the past few nights I had a quinoa tabouleh.  I was quite happy that I was able to round this up with what was left of the freezer.

I boiled 1/3 cup of quinoa for 10-15 mins. With the heat off, I added in about 1/3 cup of frozen edamame beans and 1/3 cup of frozen corn to simmer with the quinoa for 5-8 minutes. They were left to drain while I cooked up some spinach.

In an oiled pan over medium-high heat, I used 2 blocks of frozen spinach.

When they were beginning to melt, I added in the drained quinoa, edamame and corn. When the spinach is fully melted I seasoned with salt, pepper, dried basil and a squeeze of lemon. I also added some raisins and dried currants for extra sweetness.

I added threw in a bit of chopped pickled vegetables last minute. It made around 1 1/2 cup of tabouleh. I felt full after having a 1/3 cup of it with some salad. I wouldn’t have eaten the same dinner for the past few days if it wasn’t delicious. It can be frozen and reheated again.

Leave a Reply

