The Goodlife 5k Marathon and The Larabar recipe

walking to the starting line

On the past Sunday I participated for my first race, the Goodlife 5k. I’m really hoping this will keep me motivated to be involved in more future races. Now, before going on there’s something that needs… begs to be clarified. Is it spelled: marathon or marthon? Maybe it’s Canadian…?

Marthon?

I woke up early and had some overnight oats with a banana for breakfast. I made sure to bring the larabars for a mid-morning snack. I ate it about an hour before the race. Just wanted to mention that Larabars use simple ingredients (no preservatives) , mainly dates. For that reason, it is super easy to make at home.

Here’s a bit about dates:

  • they are considered a super food because of fibre-rich, high vitamin and mineral content.
  • some components are:  natural oils, calcium, B vitamins, sulfur, iron, potassium, phosphorous, manganese, copper, magnesium, carotenoids &  antioxidants, protein and more
  • they are good for constipation/ indigestion  and sugar cravings
Needless to say, they can be caloric when consumed in large amounts and they do have high sugar content (natural sugar). So…who’s up for Larabars 🙂
Homemade Larabar/ Energy bar
Makes about 3 bars
  • 7 medjool dates
  • 1/8 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • dash of cinnamon  or carob powder (optional)
  • pinch of salt
  • about 1 tbsp honey or agave
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  1. Blend together oats, walnuts, almonds, salt and cinnamon.
  2. Remove pit from the dates and add them into the blender.
  3. Microwave honey and coconut oil. Add to blender.
  4. Line a container with plastic wrap, parchment paper or aluminium foil. Pack the batter in the container tightly and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before cutting.
    * Use more dates if you want a fudgier texture

Back to the Goodlife 5k. We got there a lot earlier and watched the marathoners and half-marathoners cross the finish lines.

We also took time to stretch and met Raymond who also participated in the 5k.

doing some pre-run yoga

It started at 12:00pm  beside the lake shore. It was a very nice view and definitely a part of the city I need to revisit. When we gathered at the starting line, it was exciting to be standing around so many other runners. The count-down gave me plenty of butterflies.

The anticipation of all the runners dispersing from the starting line had me running at a faster pace. I felt some cramping just before the 2.5k mark. After getting back on my usual pace and breathing deeper the cramp slowly went away. The run itself went by very fast.

The atmosphere established by the cheering spectators and all the volunteers helped a lot 🙂 I want to thank the random woman who screamed “RUN HELEN, RUN!” as we blasted off from the starting line. My watch told me that I finished in 31 minutes, but I’m going to have to check with the website’s results.

After the race, I had no appetite but still grabbed a chocolate milk protein drink, water and protein gummies. There was also a massaging tent with the students from The Canadian College of Massage and Hydrotherapy giving out the services.  Surprise surprise, I jumped at the opportunity for a free massage and it felt great.

We found the Greek yogurt cart just before leaving. I grabbed the pomegranate flavour, yummy!

3 thoughts on “The Goodlife 5k Marathon and The Larabar recipe

Leave a Reply

