Work It Tabata and Pesto Wonderland

I have no idea how Spider Tech strips work but I’m wearing my free samples the day after the 5k anyway. It is said to help prevent pain and cramping…and I need some relief. I believe they are only good for one-time uses.

Yesterday morning I wanted to do some form of exercise but didn’t want to dress up for going out. Planning to start in the morning it held out until late afternoon. Boo…I need to work on implementing into my daily routine while I still can. I found a Tabata cardio video from Amanda Russell’s workouts, it was short and effective. Why didn’t I know about Tabata earlier?

So what is it? Tabata training is a high intensity workout that involves 20 seconds of each specific exercise for 8 rounds. 10 seconds of rest is used in between each round.  I hope that made sense, if not you may know more about it here and here. I followed the AR Tabata cardio routine with 4 exercises which took up only about 20 minutes. A short training period for a lazy attitude yesterday earned my thumbs up. Since the training is basically ongoing for the full time, an interval timer is useful. I found this Tabata Timer very useful.

A few of my favourite things are the colour green, the smell of basil and PESTO. If I could chose, I would prefer a magical pesto factory over a chocolate one. Can you imagine a Charlie’s Pesto Factory? This week I finally made pesto. I used store bought basil leaves along a few leaves from the basil plant. Last month I bought a baby basil plant on impulse after seeing it at Longo’s.

Homemade Pesto:

1 1/2 cup basil leaves
1/4 cup pine nuts
1 tsp lemon juice
1/3 cup olive oil
black pepper to taste
about 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
2 cloves of garlic

1. You can use a food processor or a blender. First, use either machine to cut up leaves
2. Add in all other ingredients and blend until until it becomes smooth.

My pesto did come out more chunky, but that’s how I like it.
 
Pesto can go well with anything. Other ways to use pesto are :
  1. In sandwich as a spread
  2. Toss with: pasta, potatoes, salad, veggies
  3. On crackers/ hor d’oeuvre
  4. In pizza, as sauce
  5. On meat for cooking or baking
  6. With eggs
Basically it goes with everything 🙂 I layered the pesto  and tomato sauce on ricotta stuffed manicotti bought from Costco. MMmm it was good.
 
 
I’ve  trying some things for the Virtual Potluck coming up on May 12. A little sneak peek on the cashew-based dessert: 
 
 Goodnight!
One thought on “Work It Tabata and Pesto Wonderland

Leave a Reply

