Monday to Wednesday foodie recap

I started off the day with a good swim. It was refreshing to get back into the water. Although I work at the swimming pool, and instruct lessons weekly I don’t have time to actually swim lanes. I realize that keeping up with the daily running routine has helped to increase my endurance a lot more.  After swimming, I visited some family friends, had a light lunch and awed over a trio of adorable baby lovebirds.

I see a budding gorgeous blue lovebird
It’s feeding time kids!
Aww, look at the shortest one.
Sigh, reminded me of when Wasabi was a baby. That was him posing with some Halloween candy just 5 years ago.

Afterwards, I headed over to a mall with mom and my brother who needed some suits. I happily tagged along and did a little bit of shopping and walking too.  The shopping didn’t end there though, we went to Costco! I grabbed some yummy samples of granola cereal, organic crackers with cheese, and ricotta stuffed manicotti. I came home and had a 40 minute jog with Mavis again. 🙂 She’s off to travel around the world after our race.  Who’s going to be my motivation when she leaves?? Exercise is so much more fun when you have someone to do it with, that way time passes by faster!

The 5k run/race is in 3 days! I’m excited 😀 I’m not quite sure what to expect, but I’m sure it will be a great experience. Tomorrow morning I’ll be heading downtown to the exhibition centre where I will pick up my race kit.

This of course is not everything, but I thought I’d share the ones I photographed. Now, for the recap:

Monday

Lunch was a make-shift caprese salad with gouda instead of mozzarella. Half a tomato was baked with slices of gouda, olive oil, salt and pepper.

Baked Gouda Caprese Salad
Serves 1
  • 1/2 tomato, sliced
  • about 5 strips of Gouda cheese (as big or small a slice depending on what you prefer)
  • olive oil
  • salt, pepper and dried basil to taste
  1. Arrange the tomato slices in a oven-safe bowl. Tuck in a slice of Gouda in between each tomato slice.
  2. Drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt, pepper and dried basil.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees C for 10-15 minutes or until the tomato slices are tender and serve. Be careful it will be very hot!

Dinner was baked salmon and parmesan asparagus on the side. Lightly oiled and seasoned the washed asparagus with salt and pepper. After it baked for 12 minutes, I took it out and grated Parmesan. It baked for another 10 minutes. I think the taste of roasted asparagus beats boiled ones. This is one of Laura Vitale’s recipes from YouTube. Oh, and I really like her vids 🙂

Parmesan Asparagus
Serves 1-2
  • a bunch of asparagus (I used about 15 to 20 stalks)
  • olive oil
  • Parmesan cheese, grated
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Wash and dry asparagus. Align on parchment or aluminium foil, drizzle with olive oil just enough to coat them. Rub them together to distribute the oil.
  2. Bake at 350 degrees C for 1o minutes or tender.
  3. Grate Parmesan cheese over the asparagus, use as much as you want.
  4. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Bake for another 10 minutes and serve.

Tuesday

Dinner was a homemade veggie pizza on whole wheat. I added some sliced bell peppers, sliced tomatoes, canned pineapple, spinach and cheese. The dough was store-bought . It was just slightly undercooked, but still tasted fantastic 🙂

Wednesday

Dinner was this baked tofu with pesto and tomato slices. I saw a chicken dish made this way from one of Laura Vitale’s vids on YouTube and I wanted to try it out because pesto is just amazing with anything. Good thing I was in the mood for tofu because I didn’t want to go through prepping the chicken pieces.

First, I pan-fried the tofu slices just until lightly browned. Season well while they cook. Next I added some pesto and tomato onto each. I didn’t have any breadcrumbs so I took my sweet time cutting up a whole wheat bagel. About a tablespoon of the breadcrumbs on each tomato and a bit of olive oil and baked for about 10 minutes.

Pesto Tomato Tofu Bake
  • 8 slices extra firm tofu
  • ~ 8 tbsp breadcrumbs
  • sliced tomato
  • pesto
  • olive oil, for oiling pan
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • dried basil (optional)
  1. On a heated and oiled pan, pan fry the tofu until golden and lightly browned on both sides. It may take longer depending on how thick you prefer to cut the tofu. Season with salt, pepper and dried basil while they cook.
  2. Remove tofu slices from pan and transfer a lined baking sheet. Add about 1 to 2 tsp of pesto to each slice.
  3. Add 1 slice of tomato on the pesto.  About 1 tbsp of breadcrumbs onto the tomato. Drizzle some olive oil onto each and season more if wanted.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees C for 10 to 15 minutes and serve.

Can ya tell I’m a fan of Italian 😉

Good night!

2 thoughts on “Monday to Wednesday foodie recap

    1. I posted the recipes for ya! The descriptions above/below the photos give a general idea of how to make them but you can tailor to your own taste and preference 🙂

Leave a Reply

