Harvard Science + Cooking Lectures and Vegan Homemade Chocolate

This morning I was surprised and dazzled to encounter a series of Science + Cooking  lectures of Harvard. I only had time to get through the first lecture, but I love the topic and the way science is presented! That’s the stuff I can go nerds for. The biggest thing that stood out to me was the “meat glue”.  It was exciting to see them discuss certain topics that I learned about this year and I’m even more blown away by the technology and the science behind cooking. The way the chef  presents his demonstrations in a casual-impromptu way makes him seem very approachable and unintimidating (is that even a word?).

I planned to get a blood test this morning as well, but the line was huge. I ended up deciding to go back another day. After coming back home, I snacked on some celery with peanut butter, Smucker’s jam and cream cheese.  I used to eat celery by itself but I usually end up not finishing more than 1 stalk because of the tingy after-taste.

I think something as simple as veggies and random dips could be an easy appetizer for parties and such 🙂

Something else I’v been loving is “Vegan Chocolate” ! Well, it’s more like homemade chocolate. I saw Averie’s recipe for this vegan chocolate, weeks ago.  I just mixed together melted coconut oil with honey, and stirred in cocoa powder and chopped walnut. Just pour into a bowl lined with plastic wrap or parchment paper and freeze.

Homemade chocolate recipe

about 2 tsp coconut oil
2 tsp honey
1 to 1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tablespoon chopped walnuts

1. Melt honey and coconut oil in microwave.
2. Stir in cocoa powder and walnuts. Stir until smooth.
3. Pour into another bowl lined with parchment paper or plastic wrap. Freeze, and cut when you are ready to eat.

I am off to meet up with some friends now 🙂 Have a good day!

2 thoughts on “Harvard Science + Cooking Lectures and Vegan Homemade Chocolate

  1. Looks great! I love making home made chocolate… you should try using cocoa butter sometime – it makes it so amazingly rich 🙂

Leave a Reply

