GoodLife Toronto Marathon 5k and Mini Pizza Tart Appetizers

Next week on May 6th I will be running my first 5k. I’m glad that I have a friend who agreed to participate with me 🙂 My training was quite inconsistent and probably not the most efficient.  I did my best to squeeze in time for workouts whenever I could while school took its toll. Now that school has finished (not once and for all) I can have some more time to focus on the race to come. I am a fan of Amanda Russell’s workouts since I found her on Youtube. Her workouts are easy enough to do at home and equipment free.

I wanted to follow a training plan that I found on Pintrest months ago, but I realized that it was already too late to start the 8 week regimen. I’m sure it will keep be busy during the bare months of summer ahead of me.

A few weeks ago at work, it was my turn to bring snacks for everyone. I found something like this on Reader’s Digest and jumped to it 2 hours before work that day.  I probably should have made more because everybody enjoyed it more than I thought they would 🙂Here’s how it went down:

Line up 2 pastry dough triangles into rectangle formations and press together. Roll out the dough into thinner pieces and cut into 12 pieces. Continue with the rest of the pastry dough.

Next, drop about 2 tsp of tomato sauce or pesto sauce, or both onto each square.

Add on desired toppings, drizzle with olive oil and season with pepper + basil. I preferred not to use any salt because the pastry and the cheese is already salty. Bake at 375 degrees C for 8-10 minutes.

Image

Mini Pizza Tarts
Serves: 6-8

1 (8-oz.) can Pillsbury Refrigerated Crescent Rolls
Tomato sauce
Pesto sauce
Sliced bell peppers
Sliced tomatoes
Frozen spinach, room temperature
Mozarella and parmesan cheese
Olive oil
Black Pepper
Dried basil

1. Align pastry pieces and roll it out into thinner pieces or to preference. Cut into small square pieces.
2. Drop tomato sauce and pesto sauce onto each square.
3. Place pieces of tomato, spinach, and bell pepper onto each. Top with cheese. Drizzle olive oil. Season with pepper and basil.
4. Bake at 375 degrees C for 8-10 minutes or until the pastry is golden and serve hot.

6 thoughts on “GoodLife Toronto Marathon 5k and Mini Pizza Tart Appetizers

Leave a Reply

