Veggie Medley Spaghetti

I was exited to try out a veggie spaghetti recipe. Mostly, I wanted to find a new use for the container of left over squash . With no grocery shopping, what did I have in the fridge and pantry that was dinner-material worthy? The ingredients below— zucchini, mushroom, broccoli, squash, marinara sauce, cheese and Parmesan. Sounded like Italian for dinner!
I also found some soba noodles which may have been expired…I caught of glimpse of the ingredients “wholewheat flour, buckwheat flour…..” and decided it would be a good addition of fibre to the spaghetti. They probably have an expiration date, but they didn’t taste stale to me.
Need I say more? This flavourful and colourful throw-together reflects how delicious (and nutritious) vegetarian dishes can be.
Vegetarian Veggie Medley Spaghetti
serves 4
  • 1 cup steamed squash (cubed)
  • 1 cup washed  mushroom, sliced
  • 1 zucchini, washed and chopped
  • 1 cup broccoli, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • ~3.5 cups boiled spaghetti , undrained
  • ~1/2 cup marinara (tomato) sauce
  • 1.5 tbsp dried basil leaves (optional)
  • Parmesan cheese
* boil the spaghetti al-dente. Al-dente just means slightly firm in the middle or not completely soft.
  1. Saute the zucchini with some oil for about 5 minutes until they begin softening and turning golden. 
  2. Add in mushrooms and broccoli. Continue to cook for another 8 to 10 minutes on low-medium heat. Season to taste. 
  3. Slowly add in spaghetti and cook with the vegetables and toss. Stir in marinara sauce and about 1/4 cup of spaghetti water. 
  4. Add in the squash last. When everything is cooked and warm, serve with Parmesan cheese. 

Although I collect millions of recipes and always find new recipes, I still find myself saying, “what should I make?”.  For people with undeveloped palates …cough..my brothers…its always a challenge.  I find it rather funny that my  younger brother avoids me when I make food. He won’t even come near, let alone try it. Too bad he doesn’t know what he misses out on 😉  Hmm I’m sure he is afraid of my healthified recipes, you see he’s a Golden Arches guy, McDonald’s. Much less now, which I am happy with. On the other hand, my older brother was home for the weekend and he enjoyed the spaghetti! A curious head knocked on my door after dinner asking “where did you learn to make this??”. This recipe is a keeper  :).

On this side note, does anyone else have an opinion on McDonald’s shift to become a quality café-like place?  I think they have doing a wonderful job beautifying the interiors of the stores. But, McDonalds, you will always be McDonalds. Even though there will be foods wearing claims of higher quality, “real fruit”, “100% meat” fast food will never equate to whole, unprocessed foods. This area of food is something that I am really passionate about, I will continue this discussion soon in another post.

My buddy says hello!
Oh no, the return of computer troubles. The power was still on after I pressed “shut off” last night 😦 It then resumed “configuring”, followed by a complete power off. It’s even creepier when tabs close and a little icon face will say something like “Oh no, Bob :(!”  with a random name.


Leave a Reply

