Late Gingerbread Cookies

This is probably the first time ever  making gingerbread cookies from scratch. Gingerbread construction houses were done a couple of times in my childhood, but no one enjoyed it as much as I did 😦 sadly that tradition died and we never felt the need to make the houses again. Luckily I had 3 weeks of winter break this year! I finished 4 exams back-to-back. Why would the university do that?! I can still remember how drained tired I was, physically that is. For some reason, I always feel mentally awake, and if my body did not need sleep, I could go on without it.

Without further ago, I present…the Gingerbread cookie recipes!

Adapted from My Cooking Hut
Yield: approx. 30
  • 90 g butter, room temp.
  • 35 g vegetable oil
  • 90 g brown sugar
  • 125 mL maple syrup
  • 1 egg, separated
  • 375 g all purpose flour, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 150 g icing sugar
  • food colouring
Gingerbread: 
  1. Beat together butter and brown sugar until pale and fluffy. Add in maple syrup and egg yolk. Stir in the dry ingredients.
  2. Turn onto a floured surface and knead until dough is formed. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 15 mins.
  3. Roll out dough and use cookie cutters to form shapes.
  4. Bake for 8-10 mins. Cool completely before icing.
Icing: 
  1. Beat egg white until peaks form and add in icing sugar gradually.
  2. Separate into bowls and add in food colourings to preference.
  3. Fill into plastic bag or piping bag and decorate. Refrigerate icing if it is too runny.
Leave a Reply

